Western

Southernmost Illinois has a long and rich history, from which many buildings, forts and monuments still stand, including civil war relics and churches over a century old. Visitors can get a detailed look at the history of the region in the Safford Memorial Library in Cairo, full of antique documents in painting, or The Old Depot in Tamms, an original Chicago railroad depot restored as a museum.

CAMPGROUND CHURCH & CEMETERY

In the early 1800s, this area was wooded and known as a camp ground by settlers and travelers, who took advantage of the five springs nearby. In 1834,  George Hileman took a land patent on the acreage that now includes the church and cemetery.

CUSTOM HOUSE MUSEUM

The Old Custom House is a historic government building in downtown Cairo, Illinois. Built from 1869 to 1872 by Alfred B. Mullett designed the building in the Italianate style, a rarity among federal buildings; his design features a bracketed cornice and rounded windows.

HEWER STATUE AT HALLIDAY PARK

Presented to the City in 1906 by Mrs. W. P. Halliday and children in memory of Capt. W. P. Halliday. Bronze casting of a marble Hewer Barnard had done for the World’s Fair in St. Louis, commissioned in 1901 by the artist’s friend Miss Mary Halliday, a Cairo artist.

HISTORIC MAKANDA BOARDWALK

Makanda has become an affordable place for artists to create and display their work downtown on the boardwalk. This historic boardwalk dates back to the 1890s. Today it offers galleries featuring quality handcrafts created by local artisans and a country store.

HISTORIC KORNTHAL CHURCH

The present church is the original structure, built in 1860. Dedicated in 1861 as Evangelical Lutheran St. Paul’s Church, it features a 50-ft.-tall steeple, pews made of native yellow poplar, and balconies that span the full length of the building on both sides of the stairway.

JOHN A LOGAN MUSEUM

Discover the legacy of John A. Logan. John A Logan was one of General Grant’s favorite officers and remained his lifelong friend.  Mark Twain found him to be a “mighty stirring” public speaker.  John A. Logan founded Memorial Day as a national holiday. 

LINCOLN MEMORIAL

The Lincoln Memorial is the site of the third in a series of seven Lincoln-Douglas debates.  Currently the picnic area offers three walking loops ranging from .24 – .41 miles.  Walking paths are on paved surface and surrounded with various plant and tree species.  

P.A.S.T. HERITAGE HOUSE

The basic goal of P.A.S.T. is to encourage an appreciation of the structures in Union County, Illinois so that individuals, businesses, and groups will help to preserve these treasures for the future by finding new and functional ways to use them.

RIVERLORE MANSION

Riverlore Mansion is located in Cairo, Illinois. Dating back to 1865, the mansion can be found on the historic “Millionaire’s Row.” The Riverlore Mansion is currently under restoration, but it will be developed into a bed-and-breakfast scheduled for December 2020. 

SAFFORD MEMORIAL LIBRARY

The Cairo Public Library’s A. B. Safford Memorial Building was presented to the citizens of Cairo as a monument to the love, devotion, and civic-minded foresight of Mrs. Anna Eliza Safford. In memory of her husband, A.B. Safford of whom died in 1877.

ST. ANNE'S
CHURCH

St. Anne’s was built in 1886 and has recently been restored by the P.A.S.T. organization. This quaint stone church with beautiful arches and wood floors and ceilings is great for your intimate wedding, renewal of vows, anniversary gatherings etc.

THEBES COURTHOUSE

Sitting high atop a bluff overlooking the Mississippi River in Thebes, Illinois is the 1848 Courthouse. Standing 170 years,  this landmark was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1972. Open the courthouse for visitors and public tours, for which there is no admission fee.

TOLL HOUSE
MUSEUM

The Confluence of the Ohio and Mississippi rivers at Cairo has seen its share of American history travel past its banks. Now visitors can stop at that famous intersection and take time to learn about that history in the new Toll House Transportation and Civil War Museum.

UNION COUNTY MUSEUM & GENERAL STORE

The museum features Native American artifacts, Anna Pottery, and local history. The Union County Historical and Genealogical Society operates a re-sale shop next door to the museum.  The shop features antiques, collectibles, books, gifts, crafts, and other items.  Proceeds go to the society for the operation of the museum.

Central

Southernmost Illinois has a long and rich history, from which many buildings, forts and monuments still stand, including civil war relics and churches over a century old. Visitors can get a detailed look at the history of the region in the Safford Memorial Library in Cairo, full of antique documents in painting, or The Old Depot in Tamms, an original Chicago railroad depot restored as a museum.

ELIJAH CURTIS HOME

The Elijah P. Curtis House is a historic house located at 405 Market Street in Metropolis, Illinois. The Classical Revival house was built in 1870 for Elijah P. Curtis. The house was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1978 and now houses the Massac County Historical Museum.

FORT MASSAC STATE PARK

Experience the scenic splendor of southern Illinois with plenty of outdoor fun and time-telling events at Fort Massac State Park. Overlooking the mighty Ohio River from the southern tip of Illinois, this majestic location has been preserved and maintained since 1908, when it became Illinois’ first state park.

GEORGE ROGERS CLARK DISCOVERY TRAIL

Enjoy a scenic ride or walk along this new concrete trail inside Fort Massac State Park. Use of the bicycle and pedestian path is free, and parking is located inside Fort Massac State Park. Upon its completion, the 9 mile trail will begin at Superman Square, continue through Fort Massac State Park, and end in the city of Brookport.

KINCAID MOUNDS ARCHAEOLOGICAL SITE

Kincaid has played a major role in the development of modern American archaeology. From 1934 until 1944 the University of Chicago excavated here and developed many of the methods that became the basis for much of today’s archaeological practice.

MOUND CITY
MARINE WAYS

During the Civil War the Naval Depot of the Western River Fleet was located at Mound City. Here the keels of three of the famous Eads Ironclad gunboats were laid, and a large force of workmen were employed to keep the fleet in fighting trim. The Marine Ways, still in operation, are 400 yards south of here.

MOUND CITY NATIONAL CEMETERY

Mound City National Cemetery encompasses 10.5 acres, and as of the end of 2005, had 8,098 interments. Administered by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs, it is managed by the Jefferson Barracks National Cemetery. This cemetery is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

MOUNDS AFRICAN-AMERICAN MUSEUM

Preserving a rich heritage is the mission of Mounds African American Museum founders Willie and Josie Eason. The museum opened June 15 in a Mounds building owned by Josie’s brother, Franklin D. Williams, and has received more than 100 visitors.

NOEL NEILL "LOIS LANE" STATUE

The statue acknowledges Noel’s contributions to the Superman Celebration as the “First Lady of Metropolis” and her portrayal of Lois Lane in the Serials and the TV series of the 1950s, “The Adventures of Superman”.

PAUL POWELL MUSEUM & RESEARCH CENTER

The house is packed full of memorabilia of a bygone era, giving viewers a glimpse at the folksy political character who rose from his humble, small-town roots to the heights of power in Illinois government. Inside his former home, dozens of pictures of former Illinois Secretary of State Paul Powell line several walls.

SUPER MUSEUM

The museum features over 70,000+ items from the life’s work of longtime Superman enthusiast and collector, Jim Hambrick who has amassed one of the greatest collections of Superman memorabilia in the world. The museum is organized around particular eras and portrayals of Superman, spanning television, movies, and comics; and is changed frequently, to encourage repeat visits. 

Eastern

Southernmost Illinois has a long and rich history, from which many buildings, forts and monuments still stand, including civil war relics and churches over a century old. Visitors can get a detailed look at the history of the region in the Safford Memorial Library in Cairo, full of antique documents in painting, or The Old Depot in Tamms, an original Chicago railroad depot restored as a museum.

AMERICAN FLOURITE MUSEUM

The American Fluorite museum is located on the site of the Rosiclare Fluorspar and Mining Co., which was once the largest fluorspar mining company in the U.S. It features photographs, ore specimens, mining paraphernalia and colorful dioramas.

BLACK HISTORY MONUMENT

Located on the grounds of the Coleman-Tricounty Services Building, this is the only site on the byway dedicated to African-American history. There is also a wayfinding historical marker, and a small gazebo and garden on the site. Open year round.

BUEL HOUSE

The Buel House is a single-family house and historic site in Golconda, Illinois on the Ohio River. The house, built in 1840, is owned by the Illinois Historic Preservation Agency and is operated by the Pope County Historical Society. 

ILLINOIS IRON FURNACE

The Illinois Iron Furnace is a historic iron furnace located in Shawnee National Forest. The stone and brick furnace was built sometime between 1837 and 1839 and was originally owned by businessmen Chalon Guard and Leonard White.

POPE COUNTY HISTORIAL MUSEUM

The museum is staffed by volunteers and is open most Saturdays from 9 to 11 a.m. and Sundays from 1 to 3 p.m. from April through November and in December for the Christmas In Golconda House Tour. DVD’s are available to purchase.

SALINE CREEK PIONEER VILLAGE & MUSEUM

The Saline Creek Pioneer Village & Museum is a place to “see and touch memories.” Located on the south side of Harrisburg, there is a sign on Hwy 13. The grounds were an original 175 acres when purchased in 1863.

WESTWOOD CEMETERY

Westwood Cemetery, previously known as “Street’s Graveyard”, or “Street’s Burial Ground” is one of the oldest cemeteries in Illinois. This graveyard was a part of an acreage that Joseph and Maria Street purchased from the Illinois Territory in 1815

John Marshall home-Bank Museum

John Marshall built the first brick home in Illinois on the banks of the Ohio River which became the 1st Bank in Illinois Territory. This was the birthplace of commercial banking in Illinois. The old building was reconstructed by the Gallatin County Historical Society and opened to the public in 1974.

Shawneetown Bank

Built during the grandiose days of ‘internal improvements’, with four stories and a five-columned portico. The building was sold during the Civil War to Thomas S. Ridgway for $6,500 when it was feared rebel forces would overrun the town. It has been owned since 1940 by the State of Illinois.

Facebook
YouTube
Pinterest
Instagram