Garden of the Gods on the Illinois Quarter

On Thursday, February 4th, 2016 at 10:00am, Harrisburg, IL. Southeastern Illinois College Gymnasium the U.S. Mint and the Shawnee National Forest will launch the 31st America the Beautiful coin – the Illinois quarter featuring Camel Rock formation at the Garden of the Gods Recreation Area.  The event will include speakers and performers and children under the age of 18 will receive a new Shawnee National Forest quarter to commemorate the event.  There will be information about the U.S. Mint’s America the Beautiful program and a coin exchange will follow the event giving patrons the opportunity to exchange their currency for the new Illinois quarter.     Click here to listen to interview about the IL. quarter.

America the Beautiful Quarters Program Program Overviewquarter photo


The United States Mint America the Beautiful Quarters Program is a multi-year initiative to honor 56 national sites in each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia and five U.S. territories-Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa, the U.S. Virgin Islands and the Northern Mariana Islands. Under this program, five new reverse (tails side) designs began appearing on the quarter-dollar in 2010 and will continue through 2020. The quarters are being released sequentially in the order in which the featured site was first established (five each year through 2020, with the final design in 2021). All of the coins are legal tender, issued by the United States Mint and available in general circulation.

Site and Design Selection
The sites and designs were developed through a consultative process involving the governor or chief executive of each host jurisdiction, the U.S. Department of the Interior, U.S. Forest Service, U.S. Commission of Fine Arts and Citizens Coinage Advisory Committee, with final approval by the Department of the Treasury.  Sites and designs represent those places of the utmost natural and historical significance.

2016 Coins
In 2016 the U.S. Mint-America the Beautiful Quarters will release  the following coins: Shawnee National Forest (Ill.), Cumberland Gap National Historical Park (Ky.), Harpers Ferry National Historical Park (W.Va.), Theodore Roosevelt National Park (N.D.), and Fort Moultrie at Fort Sumter National Monument (S.C.).